Preparing for a class can be tougher than taking it. ; )

June 15, 2009

You know how many times you have heard people say that they learned much more preparing for a class than the students.  Well, I am feeling that way right now.  I have been preparing to teach a Distance Education Tools class at USU for 6 months now.   It has been quite a ride and I have learned an awful lot.  I am sure I will learn even more from my students. Today one of my students, Stephanie Hamblin, is teaching us about blogging.  I will be asking my students to blog each day of the class and review and evaluate the day.  This is a great reflection tool and will help me in evaluating what is going on and make changes during the day.

4 Responses to “Preparing for a class can be tougher than taking it. ; )”

  1. farmhouse32 Says:

    I can’t imagine preparing for a week long/semester workshop. This mini-workshop sure took its toll on me. I agree with your statement that the instructor often learns more than the students.

    Thanks for a great first day.

    Stephanie

    • Kristy Bloxham Says:

      You did a great job with blogging Stephanie. It will be fun to see everyone else’s blog this week.

  2. Christian O. Says:

    Can you link to the class blogs? I think it would be interesting to see what all of you say about these tools.

    Thanks!

    • Kristy Bloxham Says:

      Good idea Christian. I will link to the class website in my next post, and if you go into usernames you can see all of the links to the class blogs. Let me know what you think.


Leave a comment